Sunday, January 27, 2013

Saving changes is not permitted. The changes you have made require the following tables to be dropped and re-created. You have either made changes to a table that can't be re-created or enabled the option Prevent saving changes that require the table to be re-created

 You receive this message in SQL Server 2008 when you alter a table and after modification in table, you want to save this modification.

To allow saving the modification they suggested that first drop the table and then recreate it which is not suitable when you have important data/information, and it also causes increase in rework.

To save yourself from this rework, we have another way which is mentioned below.

Step 1:- Open your SQL Server Management Studio.

Step 2:- Goto Tools -> Options -> Designers.

Step 3:- Uncheck checkbox "Prevent saving changes that require table re-creation".

Step 4:- Save your changes.

Now, attempt to save your modification changes which you have done in your table.

I hope that this will work for you as it worked for me. So please leave a comment if this post help you so other visitors can also trust on this solution.

Thanks.